Home Page Go to home Contact Us Sponsors Venue Publications Programme Highlights Contact UsRegistration
  Latest News
  Poster Competition
  Special Sessions
  Young Lecture Competition
Sponsor Event Register Now Submit Abstract


NANOSMAT honors and recognizes international scientists who have shown, during the course of their professional career, outstanding achievements in the fields of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.
The following two awards have been set up in order to recognise and honour the achievements of both senior and outstanding, dynamic young scientists and researchers.
(i) NANOSMAT Prize - The NANOSMAT Prize was set up in 2009 and since then it has become very popular and very prestigious amongst high calibre senior international scientists (up to the age of 65). Scroll to the bottom of this page for past NANOSMAT Prize receipients. 
(ii) NANOSMAT Award - The NANOSMAT Award is the same as the NANOSMAT Prize except it honors only scientists up to the age of 45 years. 




Following are the different methods for candidature nomination for the award(s):

  • Members of the NANOSMAT Awards Committee can nominate candidates.
  • Any senior and prominent scientist or researcher, belonging to an internationally recognised and established institution, can nominate any one candidate for the prize/award (one nomination per person). However, such nominations must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the proposer supporting the nominated candidate for the award. NOTE: Please remember to mention the type of award (NANOSMAT Prize or NANOSMAT Award) the candidate is being nominated for.

1.1 Direct applications by the candidates (for the NANOSMAT Prize only and NOT for the NANOSMAT Award):

Note: Candidates may only nominate themselves for the NANOSMAT Prize and NOT for the NANOSMAT Award. For NANOSMAT Award - the above nomination procedure (section 1. Nomination Procedure) must be followed.

Self nominated candidates for the NANOSMAT Prize will need to email their updated CV´s covering the mentioned criteria (see below) to info@nanosmat.co.uk


2. Deadline for nominations for 2018

For the 2017 NANOSMAT Prize & NANOSMAT Award - the deadline for nomination submissions is 28 February 2018

NB: Late nominations will not be considered.


3. CRITERIA (for both NANOSMAT Prize and OYSA)

The candidates must satisfy the following criteria:

1) Leadership

The candidate must be an outstanding scientist and a recognised leader in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology with a distinguished track record of original contributions in the NANO related field.

2) Research funding

It is essential that the scientist has an excellent track record of attracting financial support from funding institutes or centres to support their work.

3) Publications

The scientist must have published extensively in international peer reviewed and high impact factor journals (showing good citation index results).

4) Honors

The candidate's international scientific visibility/credibility consequent of his/her significant contributions and professional standing in the field of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology need to be profound and apparent. Evidence of international professional standing would be judged based on factors such as, international invitations, books authored, edited books/journals, other major prizes, international honors (honorary degrees, titles), etc.

5) Innovation

The scientist should be or have been engaged with innovative and cutting edge research. Scientists holding patents and involved with spin-out companies set up as a result of their work would be advantaged for this award.



The prize will be composed of the following:

1. Personalised Plaque

2. A check for a modest amount


Both awards will be presented at the NANOSMAT conference (13th NANOSMAT 2018 to be held in Warsaw, Poland during 11-14 September 2018) and announced on the official NANOSMAT website www.nanosmat-conference.com



1. A candidate can only receive the prize once and not more than this.

2. The winner needs to attend the NANOSMAT conference in order to receive the prize.

3. NANOSMAT Prize & NANOSMAT Award Lectures would be given by the recipients at the conference.

4. The selection committee members cannot be considered for the award (unless they no longer sit in the selection committee).

5. Unsuccessful candidates can be re-considered for the award the following 2 years. Therefore, they will be in the system for a total of three years.

6. The candidates considered for the two awards must be of the following age(s):

(i) NANOSMAT Prize - the age of the candidates must fall within this age bracket 46-65 years

(ii) NANOSMAT Award - maximum age considered is 45 years



The NANOSMAT Awards Committee will review the applications (candidates CV and nomination letters) and select one successful scientist each for the two awards.



Past NANOSMAT Prize RECIPIENTS (since 2009):

2009 – Professor Jeff De-Hosson, University of Groningen, Netherlands


2010 – Professor W. I. Milne, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
2011 - Professor Yury Gogotsi, University of Drexel, USA
2012 - Professor Morinobu Endo, Shinshu University, Japan

2013 - Professor Alexander Seifalian, University College London, UK

2014 - Professor Zhong Lin Wang, Georgia Tech, USA
2015 - Professor Werner Blau, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
2016 - Professor Pulickel Ajayan, Rice University, USA
2017 - Professor Cornelis DEKKER, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands.
NANOSMAT AWARD Receipients: (previously called "Outstanding Young Scientist Award")

2014 - Dr Stephan Link, Rice University, USA
2015 - Professor Zeev ZALEVSKY, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
2016 - Professor Markus J. Buehler, MIT, USA
2017 - Professor Andrea Ferrari, University of Cambridge, UK 


NANOSMAT Conference
MPA Meeting go to home page Find Us On YouTube Find Us On Twitter Advertise With Us Programme Publications website designed and powered by websoftdreams.com web design manchester Venue Sponsors Contact Us Registration go to home page Topics